Registration Forgot your password?
Login As
You can log in if you are registered at one of these services:
your guide to airlines all over the world
Login
HOME ⇒ Airline and Airport Discussion Forum ⇒ Sunwing Airlines


Sunwing Airlines Discussion

Your name:   Insert image
07 January 2014 09:01:00 bobisfun

people people you get what you pay for when you fly sunwing or air transat you are flying a air line that has every plane in the air as much as possible and when delays happen and they do there no back up you have to wait for the plane no code share no other plane to use you wanted the direct flight and this is the issue that happen

Reply
07 January 2014 05:01:00 Elizabeth Clarke Meneguzzi

My son Robert Meneguzzi flew Toronto to Vancouver Thursday evening. The check in process at the airport was very slow there was only one agent for passengers with boarding passes. Then the flight was 2 hours late leaving. The final upset was in Vancouver when his bag was nowhere to be found. He has been waiting and calling but has not been able to talk to a person, all his calls go to a full voicemail mailbox. He has been without his belongings for 3 days and is still waiting. What are you doing to locate and reconnect him with his bag??

Reply
07 January 2014 03:01:00 Guest

Currently sitting at the Vancouver airport waiting form my 9 am flight to Cancun to leave (it is now 3:16 pm). They originally said the flight was delayed until noon due to a medical emergency that required the inbound flight to land in Minneapolis and is now delayed for weather. I am in the aviation industry so had a check--yes, weather is bad in MSP but there are no departure delays, they are now telling us the flight will leave at 23:10--if it actually goes that will be a 14 hour delay. Do they think we are morons? No weather causes a 14 hour delay unless they cancel the flight. The reality is, as has been noted several times, it has to do with the lack of aircraft and crew at the disposal of Sunwing. The crew is now timed out and they have to wait 10 hours for the crew to be able to fly again. I upgraded my vacation to a stupid expensive beachfront room, pretty sure I will not get any money back. Further when I heard about the first delay I went on line and upgraded to "elite"-my bags are already checked so I can not take advantage of the shorter check in line or extra baggage but paid $80 for a couple of extra inches of leg room. When I went to change my boarding pass the agent said the seats were gone. Did I get my money back, nope, have to contact Sunwing for that. I have now been on hold with Sunwing for 90 minutes (good thing I have my phone plugged in and charging). Sunwing-never again and I will be sure to tell everyone who asks about my vacation never to risk their time and money on this "fly by night" operation. So far I am out one day of vacation from work and a sh*tload of money I paid for the upgraded room in Cancun. Oh, they did give me $5.00 voucher for a "snack"-thanks Sunwing

Reply
06 January 2014 07:01:00 Kevin

If you are planning to travel with a snowboard DO NOT fly Sunwing. They allow you to travel with a massive list of various sporting equipment including Skis (up to 20kgs) for free. When reading their site I saw that they allowed Ski equipment and was under the belief that snowboard equipment would fall under the same allowances. They are both a very similar sport, ski and snowboard bags are very similar and their size and weight are also very similar. I complained and complained but had to end up biting the bullet and was forced to pay a $150 excess baggage fee (15kgs overweight). If I had skis in my bag rather than a board this would have been free. What a joke of a company.

Reply
05 January 2014 07:01:00 Guest

Horrible delays by Sunwing from Toronto to Vancouver and back. Never to take the flight even if they offered free flight. This is off the list. The status on the web page as well by phone is always wrong and no explanation what so ever is offered. The luggage delivery at Vancouver got delayed with no reason. By walking you will get faster than taking this airline.

Reply
05 January 2014 07:01:00 G.C.

Nightmare trip from Toronto to cabo and return. NEVER flying sun wing again.

Reply
04 January 2014 11:01:00 Guest

Horrible, just horrible. Never take Sunwing unless you don't mind your flight being constantly delayed (both ways). We left for Vegas on the 29th, flight got delayed for more than an hour. On our return trip our flight was once again delayed for an hour. As I type this, we are once again waiting for our luggage to load onto the conveyor belt. It's been an hour already with no explanation as to why our luggages are held back! Our arrival time should be 4:10 but it is now 6:30 pm and we are STILL waiting for luggages. Customer service on Sunwing is very poor. We encountered a very rude check-in staff and rude careless flight attendants who clearly are NOT passionate about their job. Their unprofessional customer service really killed the winter holiday mood.

Reply
04 January 2014 10:01:00 Guest

NEVER AGAIN. We booked a vacation to Panama with Sunwing from December 27 to January 3. It was the worst trip of our lives. -The check-in in Montreal was unusually slow and the agents were directed to maniacally weight every carry-on luggage (capped at a ridiculous 5 kilos) and on-board luggage (capped at 15 kilos), not to tolerate even a 0.1 kilo excess. -After being herded like cattle inside the airplane, we were told that there was a 1-hour delay because our pilot needed his "regulation break". He had come on a delayed flight the night before and needed a full 12-hour rest before being allowed to get back on a plane. Poor planning on Sunwing's part. -We were then told that the luggage in the plane was "too heavy" (despite their maniacal weighing procedure) and that we would thus have to stop in Montego Bay, Jamaica for refueling. -After take-off, the rude crew served us the advertised glass of crappy champagne and that iconic filthy sandwich of theirs. If that's the centerpiece of their advertisement campaign, that tells a lot about this company. -The airplane was equipped with only two lavatories, for nearly 200 passengers. Sunwing had the other two lavatories removed to put more seats. As a result, there was an almost constant line-up to go to the restroom. -Upon arriving in Panama, we met with the Sunwing "representative" who pointed us to a waiting bus. We then realized that there was ONE BUS transporting EVERYONE to their respective hotels. As a result, we had to wait for everyone from our flight to go through the customs, a process which took nearly two hours after we first hopped on the bus. Would it not have been simpler to arrange smaller shuttles? -We were then told to attend an information session the next day at 2 pm (basically breaking up our planned first day in Panama), in which we were supposed to hand back a paper confirming our return flight time. This was rather strange, as there was only one return flight time scheduled for the whole group. We then realized that the only point of this "information session" was to try and sell us some ridiculously overpriced tours and excursions with their local "partners". -When we called our "Sunwing representative" to confirm the time our shuttle would pick us up, she told us to be in the lobby at noon. However, the bus was not there at noon. We then called her to check up. She could barely hear us because she was "at a party", but finally told us the bus would be there at 12:30. Finally, the bus showed up at 1:00.

Reply
04 January 2014 02:01:00 Guest

I was on the same flight as Guest 2 reviews below (10 hour delay Cancun to Vancouver). I won't repeat what they said. The problem is that Sunwing only has 12 airplanes and they push the limits for their pilots. The delays were horrendous and 100 percent Sunwing's fault. This wouldn't have happened with Westjet or Air Canada because they have more planes - its that simple. Short daytime flight was changed to very long overnight flight. No extra food. They still charged for blankets. Don't fly Sunwing. Same deals are available on Westjet.

Reply
03 January 2014 10:01:00 Unhappy Sunwing Guest

We had a trip from hell two weeks ago. They changed our flgiht times 3 times and actually took away the last day we were supposed to be their. Also the direct flight turned into a stop and 8 hrs in a plane. Then served a sandwich that was udderly disgusting the sandwich was stuck to the paper and was not edible......They would not give us another one. They rationed even the water....I was livid. This is our third and last trip booking with Sunwing. We booked Elite Plus but it was more like a milk run!!! I booked 3 months in advance..What a mistake that was

Reply
03 January 2014 10:01:00 Guest

I should have checked this blog prior to booking with Sunwing. I agree with most of the comments and advises here -- to Never take Sunwing again! Our trip to the Mayan Riviera as always have been great -- but of course Sunwing has to ruin it!!! We were scheduled to arrive in Vancouver at 10PM, we ddn't arrive 'til 6AM the following day (Vancouver time). So, with the time difference between Cancun and Vancouver, we were delayed 10 HOURS, 2 hours at the airport and 8 hours on a plane full of disgruntled and restless passengers and crying babies! All because of decision made by their head-office -- the details of which were not explained to us. All I know is that they have to switch crews, resulting in the delay, and changing our direct flight forcing us to have a 2 hour layover in Winnipeg! And oh, there were two sunwing planes affected by this, the other was a flight to Edmonton -- so there was another plane and the same time who are on the same situation as ourselves.

Reply
03 January 2014 03:01:00 Guest

Horrible, just horrible. Never take Sunwing unless you don't mind your flight being constantly delayed (both ways). We left for Vegas on the 29th, flight got delayed for more than an hour. On our return trip our flight was once again delayed for an hour. As I type this, we are once again waiting for our luggage to load onto the conveyor belt. It's been half an hour already! Our arrival time should be 4:10 but it is now 6:00 pm and we are STILL waiting for luggages. Customer service on Sunwing is very poor. We encountered a very rude check-in staff and rude careless flight attendants who clearly are NOT passionate about their job. Their unprofessional customer service really killed the winter holiday mood.

Reply
02 January 2014 11:01:00 michele

On Dec. 21 30 of my family members where going to Costa Rica for a wedding. When we boarded the plane my sister became ill and had to leave the plane, her husband also left to be with her. Then the real trouble began My sister had checked in with our 80 year old mother and now we were told our mother also had to leave the flight as they had put all the luggage tags on one boarding pass and all the luggage had to come off. They would not put my mom's luggage back on even when we told them which one was hers. What a very sad and hurtful trip. They did not even try to help out. It was their fault for grouping all the luggage tags together but would not help at all. My mother is out 2300.00 dollars as no one will help us.

Reply
02 January 2014 07:01:00 Guest

REF: Sunwing Flight 362/362 Ottawa- Santa Clara- Ottawa- December 2-9, 2013 Our annual vacation was again diminished by Sunwings poor on time performance. It started in Ottawa on December 2 when the plane arrived an hour or so late from Sudbury So- We arrived almost 5 hours late...which I was told by numerous people was Sunwing normal ops.No big deal cos we are at the beach and the resort is fine. On the expected return date of December 9, 2013 we were in the lobby as instructed for 0930hours only to be told there was a delay of three hours due to weather. Many of us had access to detailed weather information proving this was not true and upon presentation of the information to the Sunwing representative, the next delay hinted at technical difficulties. We were held hostage in the lounge for twelve hours as Sunwing apparently did not have flightcrew. The communication with Royalton Sunwing staff was awful. The $75 travel credit that was distributed on pickup, 12 hours late was laughed at by the whole group of stranded Canadians - However, this minimal effort does provide evidence that Sunwing admits it was at fault. The whole Sunwing transportation system seems sketchy to the point of safety concerns- To get to Royalton Resort there is a 40 mile or so causeway- in daylight it was a narrow isthmus with no barriers and most bridges blown out reducing to one lane a road that looked only one lane to begin with. The trip at Midnight was different again- the driver was tired by his own words and a small mistake and it would be a tourist tragedy that we read about- being in the risk assessment business I was very aware we were not as safe as we should be. This safety concern continued upon arrival at Santa Clara airport and another three hour wait that when the aircraft arrived, the ground service support was not Canadian standards, the stowage of duty free alcohol in overhead bins was not in accordance with Transport Canada guidelines,finally the slow delivery by about an hour of baggage upon arrival added insult to injury although airport workers seemed to indicate this again was Sunwing normal operations that resulted in a 730 AM arrival instead of a 730PM the night before -Never again Sunwing

Reply
30 December 2013 05:12:00 Guest

Returned from Punta Cana over a week ago. Baggage still missing. SunWing Customer Service really sucks. Rude agents, lack of response, and no action. I have travelled on other airlines, but never had a poor service experience like SunWing. Oh, I also got food poisoning (diarrhea) after eating the cold, soggy, sandwich/wrap they served on the airplane. Worst airline eve! NEVER AGAIN SUNWING!!!

Reply
28 December 2013 06:12:00 Guest

Returned from Punta Cana over a week ago. Baggage still missing. SunWing Customer Service really sucks. Rude agents, lack of response, and no action. NEVER AGAIN SUNWING. I have travelled on other airlines, but never had a poor service experience like SunWing. Oh, I also got food poisoning (diarrhea) after eating the cold, soggy, sandwich/wrap they served on the airplane. Worst airline ever!!!

Reply
28 December 2013 05:12:00 Guest

my flight was cancelled by sunwing and I was offered a 50 voucher for my next flight ummm 50 bucks when im off of pocket 600 for missing a days work seems fair not what a disgusting offer after talking to a agent they concluded that would be their only offer or they refund me the total flight. nice these guys should open a circus they have enough clowns working for them why not could screw that up could they

Reply
27 December 2013 05:12:00 Guest

Never use sunwing!!! Went from Winnipeg to Dom rep, had the worst food ever on the plane.. Didn't even get a choice of food on the ways back (got Montreal smoked sandwich, which had paper stuck to it) then the day we were supposed to leave the hotel a sunwing lady tells us out flight has been delayed and we won't be picked up till an hour later at the hotel, so thinking we have a little more time we go to the shops near the hotel, thank god we came back to lobby an hour early as there were people frantically looking for us saying we're going to miss our bus!! Then when we go to get onto the bus they don't have enough seats for all of us! So they send another bus which also didn't have enough seats and half of us had to stand!!! Then when we get to the airport the people weighing in out luggage were so rude! One of our bags was 2 pounds over an the other was 3 pounds under so instead of them both just equalizing out we actually had to switch stuff around ( which with other airlines never had to) ! I highly suggests choosing air transat over sunwing or any other airline! Never take sunwing ever!! They ruin your vacation!

Reply
24 December 2013 08:12:00 Guest

So... Myself and 3 friends were super amped for an all-inclusive. But never again with sunwing. I want to warn others quite simply NOT TO USE SUNWING FOR ANY OF YOUR TRAVEL EXPERIENCES AS THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS! Here's what happened: One of us needed to postpone the vacation due to a completely unforeseen interview conflict. Now I am aware and even understand the need to have a "changing fee" for the booking. Sunwing, however, choose to charge not per booking but per person, meaning that my friend had to pay around $400 just to move the vacation. Fine, we don't have a choice. Our first few days were exactly what was promised (and needed) relaxing and enjoying the food and drink. Then disaster struck. As the friday moved on, we noticed an alarming influx of people into the resort. By the time dinner came along and we proceeded to the usual buffet we noticed several things: - Drinks were restricted to limited choice, if you could even get to the bar; - Resort staff were clearly over-worked and distracted; - The pool had simply been filled in with people - WE DID NOT GET FOOD THAT NIGHT!!!! When we brought all of this to the attention of the sunwing "representative he simply nodded as though hed heard it a million times before and said it would be noted The weekend got progressively worse as we were unable to get breakfast and lunch (only managed dinner as we had a la carte reservations). The pools were bombarded with litter, food and hair (it was truly disgusting). This all RUINED our ENTIRE VACATION. By the time we got home we were furious. I brought the entire ordeal to the attention of sunwing. I requested that the changing fee be refunded along with ALL DAYS OF THE HOLIDAY which were completely ruined (a total of 3). They replied by post around 3 months later simply saying "sorry, here's a voucher and essentially accused me of racial discrimination against the locals (which was absolutely NOT THE ISSUE). They even included a report from the manager of the resort which was insulting all on its own. He wrote that we had all our needs tended to including: - Requesting a new phone in the room (only because the one we had was broken); - Asking for water (only because the daily re-stock didnt take place). We basically paid an EXTRA 400 for the worst experience of our lives! NEVER USE SUNWING!

Reply
24 December 2013 01:12:00 Gordon Betker

We have travelled with Sunwing (signature) 5 OR 6 times. We have had 2 very bad experiences with them. Needless to say we will not use Sunwing again!!! On the first occasion we missed our connecting flight fr om Powell River BC to Vancouver (weather related not Sunwings fault) So I called Sunwing to say we would not be on that flight to Cancun and that we had cancellation insurance. The Sunwing person on the other end of the phone said that our insurance was invalid as it was less than 3 hrs until the flight left Van. I replied I don't know where you are but we have about 4 1/2 hrs till flight time. So she asked wh ere we were and agreed the insurance was valid. So I then asked if Sunwing had any other flights to Mexico the next day as the weather in Powell river had improved and we could leave in a few hrs. The Sunwing rep checked and said no nothing out of Vancouver to Mexico the next day!! This was all happening at the Powell River Airport. So we rushed home and I got on the computer and found a Sunwing package to Secrets Hautulco leaving Van the next Morning!!! Called Sunwing back and said I had found this package please book it. The rep booked the package and then asked me how we wanted to pay. I replied we have a credit (because of insurance) and that would more than cover this cost, she informed me that the credit would take 6 to 8 weeks to process, my reply was no it won't call this number confirm the credit and use it towards this flight, her reply was we can not do that. I said you have $5,000 of our money make it happen and it di happen. We Are the next day at Secrets and try to check in, they have no reservation for us wtf talk about stress. So I see a Sunwing rep sitting in the lobby (Carlos) I said Carlos we have a problem they have no record of a reservation for us, It took about 1/2 an hr and Carlos arranged a room for us. So a week later we are coming up from the beach to shower and change to go to dinner and our electronic room key would not work. So off to reception they tell us we are only booked for a week not 2 weeks. Luckily Carlos was in the lobby so I calle dhim over again and said we have another problem!!! He got this mess fixed up. Carlos was great Secrets was great Sunwing was awful no customer service!!!!! The second problem was Dec 10 2013 flying to Hautulco direct from Vancouver a 5 1/2 HR flight which turned into a 10 hr flight as the plane was not full so they rerouted us to Calgary and then and then to Hautulco. When we were enroute we were told we would be in Calgary 3/4hr. well it turned out to be over 2hrs, first it was a crew change next excuse was waiting for the catering truck then finally to deice the plane. The return flight was supposed to be direct also but we returned via Saskatoon an 11hr flight. We were very late getting out of Hautulco due to a paper work problem the said we had to burn off 30kg of fuel before we could leave so we sat on the runway in 90-95 deg heat. I can not remember how long we sat there as by now I was really upset but I believe it to be around 3/4 to 1 hr. We get airborne and the flight attendants are asking that no more than 3 people line up for the washrooms. Only 2 of the 3 washrooms are working so duh there are going to be longer line ups when one of the washrooms is out of commission!!! Sunwing has to understand that when people plan their travel the direct flight's are part of that plan!! I cannot sit in those torture chambers they call seats for more than 6 hrs. so we plan around 6hrs or less. I find travelling stressful enough with out all these added problems. In future our travel plans will not include SUNWING. We gave them a second chance after the Secrets Hautulco debacle and they blew it!!!!!!

Reply
23 December 2013 01:12:00 Guest

I'm currently at yvr waiting for my flight that has now been delayed a second time .. My bf and I were given a 5$ voucher each for a snack ..woooooooo I have now been up for 24 hours , am waiting in the old terminal where it's freezing cold and shitting seats waiting for a plane that I'm positive will be delayed yet again ...

Reply
22 December 2013 03:12:00 Guest

Hmm not even sure what to say about this airline. I wish that I would have listened to the reviews and not booked our vacation through Sunwing. The fact is we arrived in mexico almost 10 hours after the fact and instead of arriving at our hotel in time for dinner on the 18th we arrived for breakfast on the 19th. Plane was delayed and the when we finally got in the air, there was a pressure problem. With that being said we had to circle in the air until enough fuel was burned because we were too heavy to land. Finally landed in Calgary fr om efmonton-after 2.5 hours and then herded into a holding room wh ere many of us sat on the floor. Waited another 3 ish hours-got back on plane only to wait for another hour inside the plane. Finally got to Cancun but we list a day of our vacation because of it. If we wanted to get to Cancun at five in the morning and take 10 hours to get there I could have saved money and flown with another airline. When I booked this with I travel the lady told me that she has flown with Sunwing its and never been a problem. I don't believe it. In fact I don't even want to fly back with them. Don't make the same mistake I did. There were lots of people on this flight that had the same reservations that I did and we booked anyway just to pay the price.

Reply
21 December 2013 07:12:00 Mark

I just got back fr om the worst service and airline operations I ever experienced with Sunwing. Checkin waited almost 1.5 hrs, Our handluggage got weight and I had 2.5 kg and my wife 5.2 Kg > we have been told to back from this bag to the other (because of 200gr ?)the result is that the weight on board is the same! From the start with a notification weeks before after we booked that it will be a stop over to get there .Why do we choose a convenient flight to get screwed later? Wh ere is my compensation if they change the conditions ? On board with none function entertainment system and the same a week later on the same aircraft ,to an absolute unorganized boarding/pre boarding of passengers due to the lack of appropriate announcements .With the same chaos results during the stop over. With hours on board until finally a glass of water was served. Seats that have 1/2 inch more leg room are sold as "ELITE" LOL just pathetic . A soggy sandwich that sticks to the pape and is sold as "A MEAL" , a gluten free "special meal" for my wife turned out vegetarian Sandwich (thankfully we noticed and I don't have to bring my wife to the hospital) . An announcement that" there is a passenger on board who has an airborne peanut allergy and ALL passenger have to refrain from eating their own food ?" WTF ! anybody from the Aircrew ever told such person that there are mask's ? Waited 25 min at Ottawa Airport for luggage arrival which is handled by the airline and not the airport. NO NO NO NEVER AGAIN WITH SUNWING what a chaos cheap * airline that is.. I worked myself for 17 years in the airline industry but this one tops it all !

Reply
21 December 2013 12:12:00 Guest

Guest : Did they end up refunding or crediting you. I had a similar experience. But we still had over an hour until the flight departed. SUNWING TOLD ME TOO BAD.... Then hung up on me after I missed my flight by ten minutes. We were willing to REBOOK.. Through thrm. Hanging up on us just lost them money and respect. We were stranded. Good work sunwing. * SERVICE.

Reply
18 December 2013 08:12:00 Zora Kurtes

Left Orlando on Monday the 16th of December, all of my Christmas presents, over $500. U.S. is missing. Flight #WG031, Property Irregularity Report #268838 and the luggage tag #W6000637. I have contacted missing luggage and they tell me that they cannot locate my luggage. What do I do, I am in Toronto and at work, my e-mail address is Dawn Kurtes Please let me know what I have to do to get my luggage back, it weighs 41 lbs., Zora Kurtes

Reply
17 December 2013 11:12:00 Guest

On the flight I took I was placed at the very back of the plane in the seats that don't recline. I would not have had a problem with this until I realized that employees of Sunwing were sat in front of me in seats that recline, and were sat with their team mates. Since when does Sunwing put the comfort of their employees in front of that of a customer who has paid to be on the plane?!? I did say something to the company and received an email that was pretty rude in return. VERY DISAPPOINTED! I am hoping this was an isolated incident on their behalf.

Reply
17 December 2013 09:12:00 Toby Joyce

The airline Sunwing vacations has dropped the ball on customer service. Flight was rerouted to Vancouver instead of Victoria. Captain told us it was do to de-icing equipment and when told to leave the air plane because said equipment could not be fixed, A Sunwing Rep will be available to answer all our questions. A baggage handler were we picked up our luggage told us to get on a shuttle to this hotel and a Sunwing rep will meet us there to answer questions. NO rep ever showed up and we ( 67 ) passengers were left to our own sense of survival with the help of our hotel front desks advise. They have seen this before.... are you kidding ? Dec. 16 today and I have sent e-mails and still no contact.. what the hell ever happened to customer service ?

Reply
16 December 2013 08:12:00 Guy

Bought a package with a direct flight (paid in full) Flight was then changed to have a stop over Sun wing agent was quite rude when I asked to have the flight changed to a date with a direct flight Rudeness continued and he would not even take my complaint Our travel money will go elsewhere next trip

Reply
11 December 2013 08:12:00 Guest

Worst airline experience in my life. I paid for Elite Plus services and I never had it and they don't want to refund my money. The customer services is really bad.

Reply
10 December 2013 03:12:00 Guest

Booked a vacation thru sunwing for first part of April 2013. It was a direct flight to Varadero, Cuba but my luggage was sent to Toronto. Took the first night with a chin up and things will get better; right? Wrong! The hotel reps were more interested in orientation and excursion bookings than to deal with my lost luggage. If I did not go to the lobby and wait for the opportunity to inquire about the whereabouts they would never have looked into it. I'm not sure they really were at any time anyway as they always spoke Spanish and then would tell me in English of the results. I arrived on a Friday but did not get my luggage until late the following Wednesday although they told me it was at the airport early Tuesday morning. Yes I was given 50 cuban pesos per day for each day I was without the luggage but I had to catch the same rep who did the initial claim and had to be at the hotel lobby waiting each day between 11am and 1pm to get a chance to talk to the rep. Never was there an effort to contact me on this information. Essentially the lost luggage was what was the focal point of my whole vacation and was very irritating at times. I went for a carefree break from 70-80 hour work weeks. I could not book excursions as I had to see the Sunwing reps daily. On one occasion the rep told me "You cannnot be too concerned, I haven't seen you for 3 days" (it was two!); I had to inform her that we had booked a day excursion to Havana thru her on that day. Sunwing's offer after this was a $100 discount with a ton of restrictions on it's use. What an insult... I will never use this vacation airline again.

Reply
09 December 2013 11:12:00 Guest

Would highly recommend that if you are looking to book a trip you don't do so with Sunwing vacations. When my family and I (2 young kids) arrived at our all inclusive resort in Mexico in the middle of the night we had to put our own credit card down to stay at the resort we had booked with Sunwing, without my own card we were being asked to leave the premises immediately. We attempted to contact Sunwing and no one was there for us for nearly 24 hours, and then I still had to resolve through my own means with the hotel. Through multiple correspondence with Sunwing since our return there gesture for our inconvenience... a $50 giftcard to fly with them again... I can get that for signing up to get their emails... what a joke. Don't expect any support. Book elsewhere with a carrier that will take care of you vs. treat you like another # or $.

Reply
07 December 2013 01:12:00 martine.h@hotmail.co.uk

This is really bad, it shouldn't happen to anyone! When we book flights we assume that a service had been paid for and therefore it is a service that we are entitled to! If it does happen surely there should be a warning suggesting this this flight is overbooked or even have the flight designated as 'standby' flights with the possibility that you may be required to fly at a later time in the day etc... but having to change dates and/or cancel- that is despicable... it is targeting those that do not have much money as im sure that this would not happen in first class!

Reply
06 December 2013 08:12:00 Mary

I booked 4 seats for Dec. 23 with Sunwing to fly to Orlando on Sept 17. On Dec. 4 Sunwing e-mailed me telling me the flight was overbooked and I had to make one of three choices. Change the day, a different destination or cancel. After 2 hours on the phone I finally had to cancel. I know when I booked the flight the plane was almost empty. I believe I got bumped so they could sell my seats at a higher price. Never again will I deal with Sunwing. They could take a lesson in customer service from Westjet

Reply
06 December 2013 08:12:00 Guest

Yet another hour delay on the return trip from Huatulco with SunWing. We will be out of our room for hours before our plane leaves. When will this abuse end? Disgruntled customer

Reply
06 December 2013 08:12:00 Guest

We just got another notice that our return flight has been delayed by another hour on New Year's Eve. When will this end? Disgruntled Sunwing customer

Reply
06 December 2013 03:12:00 Guest

Sunwing lost my luggage on a direct flight to Varadero, Cuba. They put the responsibility on me to keep checking on my lost luggage while they sold Tour spots. They only compensated as per the international law and had no consideration for my ruined vacation. Have fun with Sunwing as long as you have no flight/baggage problemss. They have next to no customer service.

Reply
03 December 2013 09:12:00 Guest

Guest : My wife and I departed Calgary on Oct 23 for Cancun with 3 pieces of checked luggage(one containing scuba/snorkel) gear...no problem.Upon arrival at the Cancun airport for our return trip to Calgary on Nov.06,we had to pay $340 U.S. to get the same 3rd bag back on our flight.Same contents and same weight. Day 24 and we are still trying to get a refund...I believe I have the president and vice president phone #'s,but why must it come to that. I had a similar experience to Holguin, end of Oct. and will be asking for reimbursement. I will take them to court, if I have to..It's the principal of the thing..Their luggage allowance for sports equipment is a totally confusing, dog's breakfast.

Reply
02 December 2013 12:12:00 Guest

My wife and I departed Calgary on Oct 23 for Cancun with 3 pieces of checked luggage(one containing scuba/snorkel) gear...no problem.Upon arrival at the Cancun airport for our return trip to Calgary on Nov.06,we had to pay $340 U.S. to get the same 3rd bag back on our flight.Same contents and same weight. Day 24 and we are still trying to get a refund...I believe I have the president and vice president phone #'s,but why must it come to that.

Reply
02 December 2013 12:12:00 Guest

My wife and I departed Calgary on Oct 23 for Cancun with 3 pieces of checked luggage(one containing scuba/snorkel) gear...no problem.Upon arrival at the Cancun airport for our return trip to Calgary on Nov.06,we were had to pay $340 U.S. to get the same 3rd bag back on our flight.Day 24 and we are still trying to get a refund...

Reply
01 December 2013 06:12:00 tfama1111@gmail.com

I would like to start by saying that this is by no means a reflection of Iberostar Hotel but of Sunwing vacations based out of Canada. My wife was scheduled to go for 7 days for a well deserved vacation to Cuba this past week. It is not her first time in Cuba, and I book this for her as she needed the break badly, especially that we have a special needs son. 9 days before departure, her mom had a severe and serious stroke, and has been in ICU since then. Needless to say, there was no way my wife could go on vacation , one week later. I immediately contacted our travel agent to reschedule the trip with Sunwing. I travel alot for business and other airlines and tour companies, always make accommodations for such last minute emergencies, some are better than others, but always it is worked out. Unfortunately, Sunwing decided that there was nothing they could do, We elevated the issue many times and again Sunwing refused to do anything according to policies. We have lost all the money of this planned trip and have no recourse. BTW, Iberostar was fully booked for the last month, and her tickets could have easily been sold. We were not looking for a refund, or cancellation, just merely reschedule her trip under these unfortunate circumstances. So, with this said, i encourage my Canadian friend, not to book with Sunwing, or at least understand what can happen when an emergency happens. Next time i will stick with Air Canada vacations, which i am an Elite member with. Again i apologize to Iberostar, as it is not your fault, and hopefully one day my wife can retake this vacation at your beautiful resort with another tour company.

Reply
30 November 2013 04:11:00 Guest

Our trip to Huatulco leaving on December 24th has been delayed by another hour AGAIN! At this rate we will have our trip actually flying on Christmas Day. I am so annoyed and feel shammed. I wonder if Transport Canada shouldn't be alerted to this shoddy business arrangement. When will this company be properly regulated??

Reply
26 November 2013 08:11:00 Guest

We flew with Sunwing from Toronto to Montego Bay. Even though our flight was booked only 2 weeks in advance, we had three flight changes before the departure. First our flight to MoBay was re-routed through Montreal extending our trip to over 7 hours and efectively taking away a vacation day since by the time we arrived at the resort was past midnight. Second, we were supposed to fly back at 9:40 PM but our return flight was moved to earlier in the day. Third change came moving our flight to 11:20 AM with a different flight number, effectively cutting another day of our vacation. The tri we originaly booked was more expensive but we were supposed to get almost a day and a half more. When I asked for their supposed "price match guarrantee" I was told that the trip I have after the changes is not being sold, so I'm not entitled to the "price match". BUT that trip was not what I booked in a first place. Check-in at the airport both ways was very disorganised and took forever - 1.5 hour for 5 people in front of me.

Reply
26 November 2013 05:11:00 Guest

We should have known better! We booked our flights in August and just got an email saying that our flight times had changed. Not a couple of hours but 5 hours! We have lost an entire our first day on the beach. Same delay coming back. We had planned to celebrate the New Year at home and now won't be back till 11 PM. I subsequently sent an email to Sunwing and still hadn't heard back five days later. I then called the Sunwing office in Vancouver and spoke to an agent and explained that we had booked our three packages based on the times and was told that charters can change times and flights because it is in the fine print. After the first agent hung up on me, i spoke to another agent who at least listened to my complaint. I was then told that it could take up to 28 days to get a response from Customer Service. And by the way, there is no number for Customer Service issues. What's with the delayed response time? Is it time to cool off? It doesn't seem right that you book according to the convenience of times and have those arrangements changed arbitrarily. I am very worried because we have booked another holiday with Sunwing in March. Some other comments state that Sunwing vacations are inexpensive, not by that much. My travel bucks will be spent on reputable carriers.

Reply
24 November 2013 09:11:00 Barbara J Marion

MYE42Flew on the 12th of November 2013 from CGY TO HUX. Flight was great apart from the yucky and disgusting sandwich and cardboard pizza. Trying to streamline food service to save time was a disaster. The buns stuck to the paper lined cheap foil wrap and it was also soggy and disgusting. I am hoping that Sunwing rethinks this meal service. It was totally gross.

Reply
05 November 2013 08:11:00 Guest

DO NOT FLY SUNWING!!! Delayed 9 hours. Vouchers were issued to passengers as the airport was closing - so there was nowhere to actually use the vouchers. As a result, no food and no drink until we boarded our flight after 9 HOURS!!! Our original departure time was 7:45pm and Sunwing staff weren't on site to help passengers until 7pm. Airport air conditioning was turned off when the airport closed at 9pm. So from 9pm onwards, we were left to sweat it out in the Montego Bay airport with no assistance or intervention from Sunwing reps. I have complained and their response was that my experience, though unfortunate, happens from time to time and that this is the risk of booking with Sunwing - or any airline. I don't think so. I hate this airline and everyone that works in it. Flight attendants had attitude, there was an empty can of coke on the ground as we boarded the plane (disgusting) and the seat were incredibly tight. I will gladly spend an extra few hundred or thousand dollars to avoid getting ripped off on a "good deal" with this p.o.s. airline.

Reply
05 November 2013 12:11:00 Guest

SUNWING TOLD ME TOO BAD.... Then hung up on me after I missed my flight by ten minutes. We were willing to REBOOK.. Through thrm. Hanging up on us just lost them money and respect. We were stranded. Good work sunwing. * SERVICE.

Reply
20 October 2013 05:10:00 *

Woke up at 2 2am and we still haven't boarded our flight 8 hrs Later!!! Delayed from 6am to 12pm. Shame On you. Sunwing!!! I'll never use you again!!!

Reply
03 October 2013 08:10:00 Guest

We flew to Jamaica through Sunwing. Never purchase insurance but was told there is a lot of crime in Jamaica so purchased it this one time. Sure enough, my camera was taken out of my baggage as it was being loaded onto the plane back to Toronto. After sending a copy of the receipt for the camera to Sunwing I was told they would not process my claim without a VISA statement or "original" receipt. I told them the receipt I sent them was all I had. Needless to say, I won't be travelling with Sunwing again as their customer support was terrible. Thank goodness I only lost a camera and it wasn't that expensive. I would have been furious if it were something more valuable!!! Shame on you SunWing!!!

Reply
06 September 2013 12:09:00 Guest

Why not post a link to this on their facebook page to make more current and future clients aware of Sunwing and their Failing customer service as well terrible rep.

Reply
04 September 2013 05:09:00 Guest

A Sunwing employee stole my sons really expensive jacket and admitted it as we were leaving to get back to Canada. 18 months later and sunwing will not even respond to my concerns. Not a call. Not a email. 100% ignored. Since this time I have found ALLOT of customers who will NEVER use Sunwing for various reasons and also had no resolve from customer service.

Reply
651 - 700 of 850
First | Prev. | 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 | Next | Last
More comments
Airlines Inform - your guide to airlines all over the world.
Copyright © 2008-2020 www.airlines-inform.com. All rights reserved.
/sunwing_airlines/4.html 4 1 1